Pro-choice activists descend on DC, vow to be ‘ungovernable’ as they protest draft Supreme Court opinion – What We Know!

Pro-choice activists descend on DC, vow to be 'ungovernable' as they protest draft Supreme Court opinion

NEWNow you can hearken to Fox Information articles!

1000’s of pro-choice activists from totally different corners in America descended on Washington, D.C., on Saturday for the “Bans Off Our Our bodies” occasion organized by a coalition of teams together with Deliberate Parenthood and the Ladies’s March.

Welcoming activists to the nation’s capital, Rachel Carmona, govt director for the Ladies’s March, warned this shall be a “summer season of rage” as she spoke on the occasion held on the Nationwide Mall.

PRO-CHOICE PROTESTERS GATHER FOR ‘BANS ON OUR BODIES’ MARCHES ACROSS COUNTRY

Rachel O’Leary Carmona speaks onstage in the course of the Bans Off Our Our bodies Rally on Could 14, 2022 in Washington, DC.
(Paul Morigi/Getty Photographs for Ladies’s March)

“We shall be ungovernable till this authorities begins working for us, ungovernable,” Carmona mentioned, main these in attendance into an “ungovernable” chant. “That’s why we’re taking to the streets at present in cities all throughout the nation. It’s why at present isn’t simply at some point of motion. It’s merely day certainly one of an invigorated motion aligned behind one easy demand, and also you all heard it, hold your bans off our our bodies!”

“In the present day is day certainly one of an rebellion to guard abortion rights,” Carmona mentioned. “It’s day certainly one of our feminist future and it’s day certainly one of a summer season of rage the place we shall be ungovernable, ungovernable. And we is not going to cease till the politicians on our facet begin appearing like they’re on our facet.”

Carmona mentioned she and different activists will struggle “till justice protects us from assaults on our our bodies” and “till everybody who needs an abortion has the proper to get one.” She additionally vowed to see different activists within the “streets this summer season persevering with to struggle.”

Abortion rights activists participate in a Bans Off Our Bodies rally on May 14, 2022 in Washington, DC.

Abortion rights activists take part in a Bans Off Our Our bodies rally on Could 14, 2022 in Washington, DC.
(Tasos Katopodis/Getty Photographs)

Janeese Lewis George, a member of the Council of the District of Columbia, additionally attended the occasion, calling free of charge abortion procedures and advised the gang that if Roe v. Wade is overturned “working class folks and households will die.”

“Overturning Roe will harm black, brown, indigenous communities,” George mentioned. “Abortion prices cash and is unaffordable for thus many who can’t journey lots of or hundreds of miles away for abortion care.”

Janeese Lewis George speaks after being sworn in as a member of the Council of the District of Columbia, representing ward four, outside of the Wilson Building in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, January 2, 2021.

Janeese Lewis George speaks after being sworn in as a member of the Council of the District of Columbia, representing ward 4, outdoors of the Wilson Constructing in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, January 2, 2021.
(Amanda Andrade-Rhoades/For The Washington Put up through Getty Photographs)

NYC MAYOR ADAMS CALLS FOR ‘NO’ LIMITATIONS ON ABORTION

“Allow us to be clear, proper now they’re simply coming for our liberty, our autonomy,” she mentioned. “And they won’t cease there. This struggle is a struggle the place all of us must be in solidarity as a result of they may come for equality of marriage, they may come for homosexual rights, they may come for trans rights. This struggle is about all of us. Working class folks and households will die if that is allowed to occur. They may endure. Historical past tells us that.”

Closing her speech, George urged these in attendance to “get up” and “struggle again.”

Rep. Barbara Lee, D-Calif., additionally spoke on the occasion and asserted that the nation was in a “disaster second,” taking goal on the “radical Supreme Court docket justices and right-wing extremists” whom she claimed have made it “clear that they received’t cease till a nationwide ban is enacted.”

“We’re right here to say loudly and clearly: Preserve these bans off our our bodies,” Lee mentioned. “Our proper to make our personal selections about our our bodies is at risk of being taken away. Like a lot of you, I’m scared, sure I’m upset, sure I’m indignant. We fought these battles 50 years in the past. … However we’re shifting ahead as a result of we perceive this radical proper and we should struggle them once more. However struggle we are going to.”

If the Supreme Court docket does undo Roe v. Wade as authorized precedent, abortion restrictions return to state legislatures — a lot of which have enacted “set off legal guidelines” to limit abortion if Roe is overturned. Republican Senate Minority Chief Mitch McConnell mentioned this week {that a} federal 15-week abortion ban is “doable” if Roe is overturned.

Rep. Barbara Lee, D-Calif., conducts a news conference in the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, February 23, 2022.

Rep. Barbara Lee, D-Calif., conducts a information convention within the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, February 23, 2022.
(Tom Williams/CQ-Roll Name, Inc through Getty Photographs)

“In the event that they coming for us at present, they coming for you tomorrow,” Lee mentioned. “So don’t assume these bans aren’t an try to additional erode our private liberties and our democracy.”

Mary Kay Henry, worldwide president of the Service Staff Worldwide Union (SEIU), together with April Verrett, president of the California-based SEIU chapter, took the stage to handle the “disaster about our our bodies.”

“Working class ladies — Black, Latina, Asian-Pacific Islander, indigenous, and white — are already struggling to make ends meet,” Henry mentioned. “April and I do know that many of those ladies are structured into jobs which are poverty-wage jobs due to company energy and systemic racism. And these identical working class cowmen of each race can’t afford a airplane, a prepare, or a bus ticket to a different state simply to get the healthcare they deserve.”

Echoing Henry, Verrett mentioned, “We’re not simply gonna stand” and vowed to “mobilize.”

An abortion rights activist rallies during the Bans Off Our Bodies abortion rights rally at the U.S. Supreme Court on May 14, 2022 in Washington, DC.

An abortion rights activist rallies in the course of the Bans Off Our Our bodies abortion rights rally on the U.S. Supreme Court docket on Could 14, 2022 in Washington, DC.
(Kevin Dietsch/Getty Photographs)

“We’re gonna elevate our voices,” she mentioned. “Now’s the time for motion. We’ll struggle again.”

SENS. SCHUMER, GILLIBRAND JOIN PRO-CHOICE NYC PROTESTS, CALL FOR SENATE TO CODIFY ROE INTO LAW

“It’s completely un-American to disclaim ladies this elementary, constitutional proper,” Verrett added. “All of us, every certainly one of us, has a horse on this race. All of us have one thing at stake on this struggle.”

A number of pro-choice activists from totally different religion organizations additionally attended the occasion and spoke in favor of authorized protections for abortion.

Sheila Katz, CEO of the Nationwide Council of Jewish Ladies, advised the viewers on Saturday that the “non secular proper” has dominated the non secular narrative on abortion.

“Spoiler alert: Jews have abortions, Christians have abortions, Muslims have abortions, folks of religion and no religion have abortions,” Katz mentioned. “Proper now, folks throughout our nation wh are already marginalized face the inhumane actuality that they could possibly be pressured into being pregnant, a life-changing and doubtlessly life-threatening situation. Only one pressured being pregnant is one too many.”

Sheila Katz, CEO, National Council of Jewish Women, speaks at an event outside of the U.S Capitol Building on September 29, 2021 in Washington, DC.

Sheila Katz, CEO, Nationwide Council of Jewish Ladies, speaks at an occasion outdoors of the usCapitol Constructing on September 29, 2021 in Washington, DC.
(Paul Morigi/Getty Photographs for MoveOn)

“For too lengthy, this nation has allowed a small, however loud group from the non secular proper to dominate the narrative round abortion and faith, claiming that abortion entry is a violation fo non secular freedom,” Katz mentioned. “So we ask them whose non secular freedom are you making an attempt to guard? Not mine. Judaism not solely permits abortion, however requires it when the lifetime of the pregnant individual is in danger.”

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

Jamie Manson, president of Catholics for Selection and a self-described “proud queer, lesbian, Catholic lady,” mentioned that she represents the “68% of Catholics who don’t need to see Roe overturned.”

Jamie Manson of Catholics for Choice speaks at a protest at the U.S. Capitol on October 22, 2020 in Washington, DC.

Jamie Manson of Catholics for Selection speaks at a protest on the U.S. Capitol on October 22, 2020 in Washington, DC.
(Jemal Countess/Getty Photographs for Care In Motion)

“I assist abortion entry due to my Catholic religion, not regardless of it,” she mentioned. “Abortion bans create profound struggling amongst those that are already oppressed by sinful buildings of racism, gender inequality, financial insecurity, and immigration restrictions. Catholics are taught a theology of social justice and abortion bans are the other of justice. What we’re seeing proper now on the Supreme Court docket is a results of non secular overreach led by Catholic bishops, allegedly celibate males who won’t ever, ever be pregnant.”

The “Bans Off Our Our bodies” occasion comes almost two weeks after a leaked draft opinion from the Supreme Court docket signaled Roe v. Wade, a 1973 landmark determination which grants federal protections for abortion, could quickly be at risk of being overturned. The draft opinion, authored by Justice Samuel Alito, was written in February.