USC Scripter Awards: ‘The Lost Daughter,’ ‘Dopesick’ Win – What We Know!

The highest prizes on the 2022 USC Scripter Awards went to screenwriter Maggie Gyllenhaal and novelist Elena Ferrante for Netflix’s “The Misplaced Daughter” and scripter Danny Sturdy and writer Beth Macy for Netflix’s “Dopesick” throughout Saturday’s digital ceremony.

As in previous years, the awards go to each the scriptwriters and the writers of the unique supply materials.

“The Misplaced Daughter” relies on Ferrante’s 2006 novel. Gyllenhaal fortunately toasted the win with a glass of champagne, noting that this award “means a lot to me notably as a result of it’s chosen and voted for by writers.” The director and author of the Oscar-nominated movie described Ferrante as her “north star” for the challenge, including that the writer has been “a very clever and beneficiant information.”

The “Dopesick” duo gained for the episode “The Individuals vs. Purdue Pharma.” Macy gave due to all households who helped her in addition to Sturdy inform the story of America’s battle with opioid dependancy. Sturdy shared a message to all viewing the digital awards present, saying anybody with affect ought to do their half to take away any tribute to the Sackler household, who based and personal the pharmaceutical firms Purdue Pharma and Mundipharma, from medical and academic establishments.

This was the thirty fourth annual occasion, and the second placed on nearly as a substitute of the same old venue on the USC campus.

The movie nominees included “Passing,” by Rebecca Corridor and primarily based on the e-book by Nella Larsen; Jane Campion’s “The Energy of the Canine,” primarily based on the e-book by Thomas Savage; Warner Bros.’ sci-fi epic “Dune,” from Eric Roth, Jon Spaiths and Denis Villeneuve and primarily based on Frank Herbert’s novel; and Joel Coen’s Shakespearian adaptation “The Tragedy of Macbeth.”

On the TV facet, the nominees have been Netflix’s “Maid,” Molly Smith Metzler and “Maid” for the episode “Greenback Retailer,” primarily based on Stephanie Land’s memoir; Patrick Somerville and “Station Eleven” for the episode “Wheel of Fireplace,” primarily based on Emily St. John Mandel’s novel; Barry Jenkins and “The Underground Railroad” for the episode “Indiana Winter,” primarily based on Colson Whitehead’s e-book; and Jac Schaeffer and “WandaVision” for the episode “Filmed Earlier than a Stay Studio Viewers,” primarily based on the Marvel comics by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.

Heading into the Oscars, the Scripters are a powerful barometer for the tailored screenplay race. Fourteen earlier Oscar winners made a cease with the necessary guild together with “Schindler’s Record” (1993), “The Social Community” (2010), “The Huge Brief” (2015) and “Name Me by Your Title” (2017). Final yr, amid a worldwide pandemic, the group had their least foretelling exhibiting, with solely two of their 5 nominees happening to Academy consideration: “Nomadland” and “One Evening in Miami.” The eventual winner, “The Father,” was snubbed altogether.

The awards are an annual fundraiser for the USC Libraries. The awards started in 1988 honoring movies, and TV diversifications have been added in 2016. The works are judged by a panel of screenwriters, WGA members, trade executives, authors, school members and members of the Buddies of the USC Libraries.

Final yr’s winners have been Chloé Zhao and writer Jessica Bruder for “Nomadland” in addition to scripter Scott Frank and novelist Walter Tevis for Netflix’s “The Queen’s Gambit.”

optionally available display reader